Blog of the Week: Miracle Survivors

tami-boehmer-subtitleOn an evening when the world turns its attention to Patrick Swayze, who lost his long battle with cancer, I thought it would be appropriate to choose a new blog dedicated to celebrating the struggle and survival of many cancer sufferers. This week’s blog of the week is Miracle Survivors, a blog by Tami Boehmer, a miracle survivor in her own right. Here’s her story, in her own words:

Hi, I’m Tami Boehmer, and I’m pictured here with the most important people in my life: My husband Mike and daughter Chrissy.

After years of working in public relations at hospitals and other healthcare institutions, I was suddenly thrust into life as a patient.

On February 4, 2008, I learned I had a recurrence of the breast cancer – just months after my five-year, cancer-free anniversary. This time I was told it was incurable and terminal. One doctor told me, “You could live two years or 20 years, but you’ll die from breast cancer.”

At first I was devastated, but soon got angry. How does she know how long I have to live? She doesn’t know me and how determined I am!

I needed to talk with other cancer survivors who didn’t accept doctors’ predictions … people who beat the odds. And I was determined to find out how they did it so I could do it myself.  So I started talking with people whom I call “miracle survivors.”  Their stories helped drown out my fears and negative thinking.  I knew if they could do it, I could too … and I wanted to share their inspirational stories with others.

So began my journey of interviewing outstanding survivors around the country for my book-in-progress, From Incurable to Incredible: Cancer Survivors Who Beat the Odds. This blog is my way of sharing these stories and the things I learned along the way that has contributed to my health and current state of remission.

As I learned from my interviews with these remarkable people, cancer doesn’t have to be a death sentence. In fact, cancer can be the start of a life sentence, and I mean this in the most positive way. Like me, for the individuals in this book, cancer was the beginning of a new way of life; one of appreciation, hope, and discovering one’s potential.

Go take a look at Miracle Survivors and support those who have thrived in the face of cancer, and who are spending their lives trying to inspire others.

2 Responses

  1. Thanks so much for picking my new blog! It really means a lot to me and know it will help to reach others who need hope and inspiration.

  2. Tami-
    As the granddaughter, daughter, sister and friend of women who have faced breast cancer, I want to offer you a sincere and heartfelt thanks for offering your story, your hope, your inspiration.
    With warmest regards and respect,
    Amy Tobin

Leave a Reply

