Blog of the Week: Writer-Mommy

We’re going to try something a little different on the CWB site. Each week, we plan to feature one of the many interesting bloggers listed on our blog roll. I’ll give you a little intro to their site, and then a link. That’s it! Then, you’re supposed to check out their site. It’s a fun way for all of us to get to know one of our fellow bloggers in Cincinnati.

So, this week, meet Marianne at Writer-Mommy. She describes herself as “blessed with three sweet children, two crazy dogs, one amazing husband, and a passion for writing.

And here’s a little bit about her site:

Since I’ve loved the Internet since I discovered emailing and chatting in college (we’re talking early 90’s here, people, with audible dial-up and blinking cursors), I knew I wanted to create my own little webjoint. A place I, a busy mom/wannabe writer would like to find online – a site to bookmark, link to my friends, make my homepage (this is the part where I’m brainwashing you….I love writer-mommy.com, I love writer-mommy.com….).

I bought my domain name through GoDaddy, then promptly forgot about it because it was time to make our way to House #3 and the music in my ears was getting louder: the movers are coming, the movers are coming! 

Once we were settled in house #3, most of the boxes were unpacked, and Princess Pinky had emerged from six months of non-stop screaming tantrums induced by what could only have been an undocumented alien abduction, my life was on an even keel once more. I started working on building a website, with the intent of launching writer-mommy.com with full pages, sweet graphics, and hip, snappy writing.

Then, I popped up pregnant with #3. And the job that had brought us to House #3 began sliding south at an alarmingly frightening pace, requiring a new career strategy, job search, new job, and ultimate relocation to House #4, which of course meant listing House #3 For Sale just after Sir Screamsalot made his grand appearance into this world. Ten month after For Sale sign went up, we were sold, and the music starting singing in my ears again – you ‘ve heard it before, just chant along – the movers are coming, the movers are coming!

Now that my life is somewhat settled again (although I fear by stating that fact, I’m jinxing myself for another upheaval), I decided to finally justify my year-over-year domain renewal fees and finally build my little webjoint.

So here I am, blogging myself silly, and having a great time.

This blog is a place for me to write every day, just because. That means I’ll be blogging mostly about my life, experiences, and opinions.

So, go give Marianne’s site a look see! Remember, you can find her at www.writer-mommy.com.

10 Responses

  1. How fun….I always like to meet new bloggers.
    sandy toe

  2. Great idea. Nice to get a closer look at the blogger. Look forward to the next meet up.

  3. Shannan – so kind of you to feature me here!

    Wow…I haven’t been over to visit for a while; the blogroll of awesome Cincy women bloggers is exploding! I’ve got lots of new places to visit!

    😉

    Take care!

  4. oh, i love this feature. going to visit her blog right now.

  5. Great idea. Thanks!

  6. Glad you are like this new feature. With so many blogs popping up we thought it’d be a great way to find/learn about each other!

  7. Great idea! Also, I am disappointed because I wasn’t able to come to the meeting on Saturday, but I will keep an eye out for the next one!

  8. I like this feature!

    wow, I’m honored to be just above the UC Medical Physics blog 😉

  9. Great idea – loved the idea of featuring a blogger. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Love it! I’m a male pro blogger who just moved up here and this series will be great for getting to know the local blogosphere.

    I’ll have to hook you ladies up with the Newcomb College Center for Research on Women back home in New Orleans. I’ve lectured there and a colleague / friend runs their social media lab. (@sophielab on Twitter)

    Great site, nice to see a vibrant scene of women bloggers up here!

Leave a Reply

