Local Blogger News: Cincy Women Blogger “Breaks a Leg”

Last night I had the opportunity to check out the Falcon Theatre’s production of Hamlet at the Monmouth Street Theater in Newport, KY.  Now you may be asking yourself, Shannan, this is Cincy Women Bloggers, what’s the connection between Hamlet and social media?  Well I’ll tell you… in this case, it’s Julie from WineMeDineMe, who takes on three rolls (that’s right, three rolls!) in the production.

Courtesy of Falcon Theater Facebook page

Courtesy of Falcon Theater Facebook page

Hamlet has forever been one of my favorite works from Shakespeare so when Julie offered me the opportunity to check out the Falcon Theater’s production, I jumped at the chance.  I first remember reading Hamlet it in college and finding myself fascinated with the love story portion of the play.  I even wrote a paper for a writing class about the relationship between Hamlet and Ophelia.  NOTE:  Ophelia was the name of my very first laptop – a PowerBook 190cs, by Apple (That’s how dorky I am!)

Prior to seeing Hamlet, I’d not seen a production by Falcon Theater. My husband and I have only recently gotten into local theater, and just attended our local theater production few months ago.

Now I am not a theater critic, but as a person who enjoys theater, I would give Falcon Theater’s production of Hamlet two thumbs up and would recommend you check it out. It’s not only a great way to show your support local theater, but it’s a great night out that won’t break your wallet.

Here’s a list of the cast along with some notes from me!

Hamlet: Ted Weil
Gertrude: Tracy Schoster
Claudius: Terry Gosdin  
Horatio: Holly Sauerbrunn
Ophelia: Carrie Mees
Laertes: Jay Dallas Benson
Polonius: Jim Waldfogle
Rosencrantz: Tim Rogers
Guildenstern: Thurman Allen
Gravedigger: David Roth
Gravedigger/Lucianus/Osric: Dave Bogenschutz
Player Queen/Marcellus/Ambassador: Julie Niesen
Player King/Captain/Attendant: Michael Potter
Ghost/Player/Attendant/Priest: Bob Buchtman
Bernardo/Cornelius/Player/Attendant: Thomas Langlois

Director: Ted Weil, Tracy Schoster and Holly Sauerbrunn

Performances are at the Monmouth Theatre (636 Monmouth Street) in Newport, KY. You can catch the show the following weekends -February 20, 21, 27, 28 and March 6 and 7 at 8:00 p.m.

Tickets are only $15.00 for adults and $12.00 for students and seniors.

For more information and reservations call 513-479-6783 or check out their web site at www.falcontheater.net. You can also find them on Facebook here or follow them on Twitter, here.

Have news to share that’s related to the local blogging scene? Email shannanb@gmail.com

2 Responses

  1. It’s a must see! Get a glimpse of our gal now before she’s big and famous and barely remembers us!!!

    Luv ya Julie!

  2. Oh, I love Shakespearean theater! This sounds like a fun weekend activity.
    I guess I’m a dork, too–I named my first car Desdemona.

Leave a Reply

